• Nikah Masterclass Newsletter
  • Posts
  • Do you have a financial setup that you've seen work well with other couples where both husband and wife work with children?

Do you have a financial setup that you've seen work well with other couples where both husband and wife work with children?

All while still fulfilling each other's rights, meaning splitting up certain bills, how to set up checking savings accounts.

What I recommend people to do is to always have three accounts. You want a joint account for you and the family, right? So joint account, this is where money that is spent on everyone goes in. And then you want to have an account for yourself.

And your spouse has an account. I always give everybody this very simple example let's say it's eid and you're like, Oh, I'll just give my wife a debit card to give her a credit card to let her spend whatever she wants.

And then you're doing the bills and you notice that she made a big purchase for you. She's like, what is this Traeger grill? Like I didn't order this and you just ruined your Eid gift.

Yeah.

You know, what is this watch? Oh, they just ruined my Eid gift. And then you lose respect because you're like, well, I could have spent my own money on that.

Why is she spending my money on me? So each spouse needs financial autonomy.

But as far as like logistically, you want to be able to say, okay, I know like this money is mine. I don't need to like my wife about what I'm spending. This money is mine. I don't need to tell my husband about what I'm spending, but when we spend from the main account, that's when it becomes important to know, hey, I was supposed to pay the light bill, but you spent it on, something at target, right?

So having those conversations beforehand are really important. And coming to an agreement about, hey, which of us is good with money? Which of us is bad with money?

All of that starts with proper communication.

Reply

or to participate.