How do we identify taking the advice our in-laws give versus them interfering?

In the sense that for me, like my mom telling something to me, I'm looking at it as advice, whereas maybe somebody else looks at it as interference.

Any tips on how to identify whether your life is being interfered with?

If you're able to come at it from a position of like, yes, a lot of people will give advice, right?

Hamdulillah. Jazakallah khair for that feedback.

But you know, I'm more comfortable with this.

Then you're able to brush it off.

Because they're not going to not give advice.

Comments are going to be made.

If you have your own insecurities, your spouse has her own insecurities, then you're going to personalize it and take it as, oh, what do you mean by that? Am I not a good parent?

That's a you issue.

You have to kind of work on building your own confidence.

And then having that sense that, look, my spouse and I, Mashallah, we run our own ship. We know, you know what we're doing. We have full autonomy. And so therefore we're just going to take it as advice. And Alhamdulillah, if it's good, great, we'll take it.

If not, there's no obligation for us to take it, you know?

Reply

or to participate.