If I inherit land from parents after I got married, does that count towards marital property?

The default is that that's going to be considered non marital property.

Anything that's been gifted to you personally, any inheritance, is going to be considered non marital property. But again, you're going to run into the same problems that you get this land. And now are you using your income to support that land? Okay, so if you're using your income to support that land, your husband or wife later on can say, hey, you're using our money to pay for your land.

I want my credit. I want my 50 percent back. So technically it's not marital property, but you want to be careful for transmutation and commingling and that type of thing. And again, a prenuptial agreement will make sure inshallah that that stays non marital property.

Reply

or to participate.