Should you live with your in-laws?

I actually have a lot to say about that. So, I'll start off with this we're not a culture or religion that believes in nursing homes.

So, let's put it out there.

May Allah preserve our parents eventually they will reach an age where they are reliant on us.

They reach that stage of daef that stage of like weakness, where they need constant care.

We wanna be the ones to be there for them. Now, the mistake that I think a lot of people make is that they say that, no, I wanna live with my parents.

The guys will say this, I wanna live with my parents from the get go just because this is what they're used to and so on.

I say, have at least a few years, 5, 10 years. where you're living on your own with your spouse.

Build that understanding, build that foundation so that when that time comes when your parents actually reach old age.

You're equipped as a couple, like you guys understand each other, you've had that quality time together, you've had that understanding, your communication is strong, and so then you're going to be able to handle situations where our parents obviously when they're old, everything is aching, they're irritable, you're going to have patience.

As opposed to a couple who's been living in that situation forever.

And then they're already burnt out by the time the parents get old.

Reply

or to participate.